Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 Guitars and strings
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

smiley
Aloha

USA
13 Posts

Posted - 02/03/2004 :  01:44:31 AM  Show Profile
Aloha all,
My lovely husband bought me a beautiful maple Taylor 612ce. I put extra light Elixirs on it, and it sounds great plugged in playing blues. However, I think it sounds a bit, well, whiny, played acoustically in open tunings. I am a beginner at slack key. Any suggestions? What guitars and strings are y'all using? Mahalo for your kokua.

janis

Darin
Lokahi

USA
294 Posts

Posted - 02/03/2004 :  08:51:36 AM  Show Profile  Visit Darin's Homepage
Smiley,

The Taylor 612ce is the smallest Taylor size of the three primary options. In addition to the smaller diameter, it is also shallower from back to front than the other models. Taylor is actually deepening front to back on new models to come. The 600 series Taylors are maple backed instruments. Maple has a very clear sound, but lacks depth in the bass. It is an excellent recording wood because of the clarity. All these factors combine to produce a guitar that is comfortable, small, and clear, but lacking in volume and depth. Many people also say that Taylors generally lack bass compared to other instruments (e.g. Martins). Please don't get me wrong; I play a Taylor 614ce as my primary instrument.

The reason you can get a great sound out of the guitar when it is plugged in is because it is much easier to add bass than subtract it. Thus, you can make the instrument sound deeper when plugged in by adjusting the tonal controls and adding bass.