Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Kanikapila Forum
 SLO area (reply to Keith's post in General forum)
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

hg
Aloha

USA
10 Posts

Posted - 10/21/2004 :  1:28:11 PM  Show Profile  Visit hg's Homepage
Keith -

I'm new to the uke scene - I play regularly with Ron Saul in a Thursday lunchtime jam, though he's on bass and I'm on flute, and we're generally outnumbered by guitars. On weekend mornings, a couple of surfers (Kevin & Mike(?)) are generally found playing in the parking lot at the Pismo Pier, and they welcome others. Dorian Michael plays uke on at least one of his albums, and I just discovered a shop in Cayucos called "Alternate Tunings" dedicated to ukes, plus "Lightning Joe's Guitar Heaven" in Arroyo Grande has a pretty good collection. Next time I see them, I'll ask Kevin and Ron what else is going on.

===================================
howard,

i checked your members page and see you're at SLO. we head up that way a few times a year, and i like visiting blue note music. it seems like there's some good acoustic guitar activity there, and with rs saul building some great sopranos, i wondered if there was any hawaiian music in the area. what's going on up there?

[note to moderator andy - sorry for posting this here - i just wanted to have this in a place that i thought howard would see. howard, it might be good to reply to this under the "kanikapila" forum]

aloha,
keith

hg's guitar/uke page

Edited by - hg on 10/21/2004 1:30:11 PM

marzullo
`Olu`olu

USA
923 Posts

Posted - 10/21/2004 :  5:34:07 PM  Show Profile  Visit marzullo's Homepage  Send marzullo an AOL message
howard,