Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 News story about music camps
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

hapakid
Luna Ho`omalu

USA
1533 Posts

Posted - 11/05/2004 :  01:56:10 AM  Show Profile  Visit hapakid's Homepage
Since I work for a newspaper, albeit as a photographer, I decided to write about the music camp experience in general, including info about the Aloha Music Camp though I've only been to George Kahumoku's camp, and only for a few days. Both of the camps are already very popular, if not sold out, so I didn't see it as an opportunity to promote the camps, but rather to let the readers see what happens there. I called the Mauian Hotel for details and they're already booked up during George's workshop next June!
My paper, the Spokane Spokesman-Review, printed the story last weekend in the Travel section with a couple of photos. It ran below a fairly generic story about Hawaiian vacationing.
I've tried to post a link to the newspaper website, but our paper recently went to "pay-to-view" status, so the link I use at work doesn't work without a membership. Don't get me started on whose bright idea it was to charge people to read a story. Grrrrrrr. I will post a link in this space tomorrow. Sorry.
I'm sure there are some discrepancies, but what's done is done.
I submitted three photos with the story and they ran two. Here are those images: