Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 `Uke Talk
 Beginning Uke Recommendations
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

All Thumbs
Aloha

35 Posts

Posted - 02/25/2005 :  08:01:01 AM  Show Profile
I have been playing slack key guitar for about 18 months now and am loving it more every day. However, listening to slack key guitar for the past three years, I have also been hearing a lot of uke music and liking it more and more. So, now, I want to start playing uke. I need some guidance as what type of uke I should buy (concert, soprano, baritone, etc.) and make. I want to get a good quality uke, but I don't want to break the bank either. What should I be looking for in a uke? Any advice/recommendations would be most appreciated.

Mahalo

All Thumbs

Pauline Leland
`Olu`olu

USA
783 Posts

Posted - 02/25/2005 :  08:30:27 AM  Show Profile
I find a slightly longer neck easier to play fingerstyle, tho sopranos are fine for strumming, so I'd suggest a concert size. It will still seem much, much smaller than a guitar. Maybe a tenor but its tone is getting more guitar-like resonant. Not a baritone, too much like a guitar in size and tuning, although there will be plenty of bari-loving folks who'll disagree.

Brands? In just the last couple of months there has been a slew of fine sounding ukuleles coming from China, far better than existing ukes in their price range, or so I've read. A few of the brand names are Jenny, Praiseland, and ..., darn, can't remember the other names. They are all so new that it's hard to find them. The old advice of try before you buy, or at least have a generous return policy still applies.

Pauline
Go to Top of Page

hapakid