Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Talk Story
 translate: "Na wai e 'ole?"
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

pukaua
Aloha

20 Posts

Posted - 10/26/2007 :  12:32:28 AM  Show Profile
I am no expert, so take my opinion with a grain of salt, but the "na wai" part to me emphasizes "who". As an intermediate student of Hawaiian, I looked at that and figured it meant "Who isn't/won't/wouldn't/shouldn't?"

Hopefully someone more expert in Hawaiian can comment on that.

It is really difficult to translate turns of phrase - they encapsulate so much shared culture which can't easily be untangled from their native language and re-integrated into another language. We don't even think about it, but the phrase "why not" (in the context you gave) is like this. "Why not?" implies something about the person asking "why not" and his/her relationship to the person asking "why". It turns the challenge back to the person asking "why". Like "I am not answering your question because I don't need a reason (or I am tired of having to justify my action, or I may have no specific reason, or I am a devil-may-care kind of adventurer), and instead I am challenging you to broaden your acceptance and consider why anyone needs a reason other than 'it can be done', or to give me a counter-reason why I shouldn't."

In that sense, the translation "Who wouldn't?" (assuming that's a valid translation of "Na wai e `ole") would make sense. Like "Instead of answering your question, I am challenging you to tell me what kind of person wouldn't". Or "Who wouldn't jump at an opportunity to try something?"