Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Da Kine Music Gear
 Looping pedals
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author  Topic Next Topic  

chunky monkey
Ha`aha`a

USA
1021 Posts

Posted - 08/23/2024 :  08:34:54 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
This is mainly directed at Fran, but I welcome any input.
I'm looking at looping pedals for something else to do. I know folks who use them a lot, but I have no experience with them since I seldom play in public. I do have some infrequently recurring gigs and I might like to experiment. I know Fran has a ton of knowledge regarding electronics and recording. I've watched some youtube videos, but before I spend some $ I'd like some advice. I'm somewhat suspicious about using looping with most of the songs that I play since it seems that basic three or four-chord melodies are most suitable. I play a lot of John Keawe and Jeff Peterson arrangements that don't seem to lend themselves to looping melodies. Any thoughts from the community? Thanks.

Fran Guidry
Ha`aha`a

USA
1579 Posts

Posted - 08/24/2024 :  08:28:41 AM  Show Profile  Visit Fran Guidry's Homepage  Reply with Quote
Terry, I fooled with loopers many years ago, back in my rock'n'roll days, but things have progressed substantially and I haven't kept track. I do know that loopers are included in many multi-function pedals, that loopers have lots more storage these days, and that using one for performance requires a lot of practice.

I'm pretty sure that you can get loopers that allow you to pre-record parts and select them for playback and/or build songs out of multiple parts. I can't name any specific devices, though.