Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 open tunings
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

barry luttrell
Aloha

Canada
13 Posts

Posted - 01/24/2004 :  8:55:40 PM  Show Profile
I have been fingerpicking for about 10 years, blues, ragtime, country blues & have become reasonably skilled, at least on some stuff, with a pretty clean sound. I have been playing slack key for 6+ months now [I am new to open tunings ]& am trying Kotani[Some success] Beamer [some success]& Kaapana [a work in progress]...My problem is I can't always get a clean sound because some of the strings tend to bounce of both my fretting & picking fingers. I assume this happens because the strings are looser & vibrate more...I don't have this problem in standard tuning,and it happens whether I play fast or slow....and I'm a careful player. The two tunings I use are open G & open C.

I play medium strings with low action, acoustic guitar...Is this a common problem that other players have run into & is it possible to get some feedback from players that have managed to solve this headache.

Help would be appreciated. I'm a Canadian, Toronto, and right now it is real cold here.

Barry

RJS
Ha`aha`a

1635 Posts

Posted - 01/24/2004 :  11:37:23 PM  Show Profile
Barry,
welcome to the universe of slack key -
My guess is that you can first try higher tension strigs (the cheap and easy way) and if that doesn't solve your problem, check in with a luthier/good guitar repair person in your area to adjust the height of the action.
Raymond
San Jose

Raymond
san Jose
Go to Top of Page

cpatch
Ahonui

USA
2187 Posts