Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 `Uke Talk
 instructional resources
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Magdog
Aloha

7 Posts

Posted - 10/20/2004 :  5:07:17 PM  Show Profile  Visit Magdog's Homepage
Hi-

Several questions really:

Can you folks weigh in with opinions about the best way for an absolute beginner (zero musical experience) to proceed with learning and practicing the uke? How did you learn? what worked well and not so well? what would you do differently? Recommended DVD's, Books etc? Teachers in the San Francisco Bay Area?
I've been working on chords and progressions but I think it's time to admit I need help...my name's Steve and i'm a ukeholic...
thanks
Steve

http://www.Alohashirtrescue.com

Edited by - Magdog on 10/20/2004 5:09:09 PM

marzullo
`Olu`olu

USA
923 Posts

Posted - 10/20/2004 :  5:21:15 PM  Show Profile  Visit marzullo's Homepage  Send marzullo an AOL message
hi steve,

jim beloff's intro book is good, since he has you playing songs right away. his workshops are supposed to be good for that too - check his website fleamarketmusic.com.