Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 Novice Makes Progress, But Is Still Frustrated...
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

souchong
Aloha

USA
8 Posts

Posted - 07/23/2002 :  2:16:16 PM  Show Profile
Aloha Dear Ones,

Beggin' your collective pardon for introducing such a dull topic, but I just have to get a few things off my chest. As some of you may know, I'm a total guitar beginner trying to teach myself ki ho'alu. I have Beamer & Nelson's Learn to Play book, and I'm also subscribed to Keola's online lessons, but my problem is they both seem to be geared toward folks who already know how to play guitar, and who want to cross over to ki ho'alu. So when the printed lessons start to get over my head (pretty quickly), I put on a slack key cd and do my best to play along. On many slow pieces, I can usually pick out a very basic bass line. This has been nice just to get used to holding the guitar and getting my left hand used to the positions & actions of fretting (and calluses - ouch). But last night, I started to learn my first melody line!

This would be the first track on George Kahumoku's cd Hawaiian Love Songs, "The Queen's Prayer". George starts out with an intro on rapidly strummed bass strings, but then starts playing the melody very simply, one note at a time. This was the part that I played along with, over and over, for about an hour. I'm sure my fingering - both hands - was atrocious, but it was just so exciting to reproduce, however pitifully, something on one of my favorite cds!