Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 Answers to Reid's Recording Questions
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Lawrence
Ha`aha`a

USA
1597 Posts

Posted - 12/10/2004 :  6:30:14 PM  Show Profile
Well here goes,

Given the Caveat that I am not the world's foremost authority on Music Recording, here are my answer's to some of Reid's recording questions.

quote:
This means no click tracks.

LB- Don’t worry about it, if you don’t like click tracks don’t use them. Many of the academic Musician’s I have worked with like them very much, but lots of the self-taught Pro’s do not.

quote:
This means no multi-tracking. It also probably means no punch-ins.

LB- No! – Multi-tracking is good, mult-itracking is your friend (just uses more data space). You do not want to do overdubbing, which is understandable and OK. Overdubbing can take some of the “life” out of a recording (Can you imagine a jazz performer like John Coltrane overdubbing !) – However, you do need to read Ilio Nui’s post on using two microphone’s on a Guitar (and more can be even better if you are careful), then when you add the vocal you end up with three or more tracks for one performer.

quote: