Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 `Uke Talk
 Low G or not to Low G (Kamaka Lili'u tenor)
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Ukupau
Aloha

USA
24 Posts

Posted - 05/15/2005 :  05:27:51 AM  Show Profile  Visit Ukupau's Homepage
So here I am just starting down this road to Ukulele pearls of knowlege and have hit upon a cross road. I am just learning the chords and how to position the fingers to reflect what I see on the sheet music. After attending the Daniel Ho and Uncle George Uke workshop and concert(way awesome) here and San Diego I was inspired to proceed with a Low G setup. Hopefully I am not creating a hardship on myself by doing so?

The Kamaka Lili'u (70's model) Tenor 6 string is up as thus:

6th top string: is High G

5th. string:(or the octive string) is a (high C)

4th. string: is- C

3rd. string: is- E

2ndh. string: (or base/octive string) is tuned low- A

1st. string: is regular- A

I am using the ST-6 string set as provided by Kamaka (which sells with a High G 6th string). I was looking for a low G string set (e.g. Ko'olau Gold which I have on my Lanikai Tenor) but did not see anything available to date.

I am looking for guidance as to "should I start with Low G at an early stage of learning" and "where do I find a Low G string set for the Kamaka Lili'u Tenor?

Thank you in advance, JohnF

Pops
Lokahi

USA
387 Posts

Posted - 05/15/2005 :  05:49:08 AM  Show Profile
John,

Try elderly.com in Michigan. They have about everything. Also, and I'm not sure about this, but do your bridge and nut need to be changed, etc. to handle low-G tuning?

Best wishes.
Go to Top of Page

hapakid
Luna Ho`omalu

USA
1533 Posts