Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 Basic question: Fingernails or just fingers?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Tonya
Lokahi

USA
177 Posts

Posted - 07/07/2005 :  07:27:06 AM  Show Profile  Visit Tonya's Homepage
As an absolute beginner at guitar, I'm having fun with this new activity but I have a basic question: Should I have longish fingernails on my right hand or not? I'm lucky enough to have very tough yet not brittle nails (they rarely ever break) that grow easily but I'm wondering if I should keep 'em short for slack key playing or not?

Should I be plucking the strings with the pad of my fingers or my nails? I'm guessing I'd get a different, less bright, sound with no fingernails but before I lop 'em off I need to know if that's the right thing to do? Of course, they do always grow back quickly...

I'm also guessing this might be another, "Whatever works for you," question, but I'll still toss it out there since I have nothing working for me right now and I might as well start aiming for what works for others.

http://www.uketreasures.com
http://www.ukuleletonya.com

Ianui
Lokahi

USA
298 Posts

Posted - 07/07/2005 :  08:06:20 AM  Show Profile  Visit Ianui's Homepage
You are lucky to have nails that grow quickly and are not brittle. IMO you get a crisp sound and more resonance using nails or picks. Plus I think you pull off the strings quicker. Some of us GUYS go so far as to have acrylic nails put on two or three fingers of the right hand to pick with.

Do you like the sound of with or without best? Which ever you like is what you do.