Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 Sticking with one tuning or branching out
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Sellars
Aloha

Netherlands
30 Posts

Posted - 01/16/2006 :  10:51:12 PM  Show Profile
Hi all,

As you may have read in one of my previous posts, I am currently working on Ozzie's book. I'm studying on Ex 5 now. Ex6 is the last exercise in taropatch tuning. after that he introduces slack G (which isn't all that different from taro ofcourse) and C something.

Besides Ozzie's book I also have one by Keola beamer, and the tabledit files from led Kaapana. I am sort of at a choice now: Do I first do all of the exercises in taropatch tuning before I tackle another tuning, or do I go though the books in serial order?

I can see advantages with really trying to get one tuning down good, including all positions and a reasonable repertoire before turning to another tuning. On the other hand, I can imagine that being comfortable in several tunings construes learning these tunings early in your slack key development.

Any advice or ideas?

kind regards,

Roel

I've always been crazy but that's kept me from going insane (W.J.)

Playing: Ukulele, Slack key guitar, Mandolin

Rlowenote
Akahai

84 Posts

Posted - 01/17/2006 :  03:56:50 AM  Show Profile