Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 `Uke Talk
 Makers and Size Recommendations
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Pops
Lokahi

USA
387 Posts

Posted - 11/02/2002 :  4:04:04 PM  Show Profile
Aloha, all,

Seeing that we have so many friends in one spot I'd like to ask your recommendations about two items. I've been playing a Fluke (concert model) for a few years now, and though I love it, I'm thinking of purchasing a wood model, say in the $400-$700 range. What do you all like in terms of makers (Kamakas, Koalohas, etc.) and what size (soprano, concert or tenor).

Mahalo for your input,

Pops
On the Great Lakes were it's getting cold

Julie H
Ha`aha`a

USA
1206 Posts

Posted - 11/03/2002 :  12:07:36 AM  Show Profile
Aloha Pops,

I have all 3 sizes, they each have their own characteristics. I have a Graziano Pineapple soprano, very sweet and portable, and easy to play because I have little fingers. (Very expensive, though.) It's small enough for me to stick in my giant purse and carry it on the plane to Hawai'i. But if you don't carry purses, it's not so important for you.

Then I had the great luck to be able to buy a Kamaka Koa concert from a friend from Aloha Music Camp, and I love it as well. A solid, well-built instrument, around $500 slightly used.