Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 `Uke Talk
 One or Two Short! Slack Key Ukulele Pieces?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Absolute
Lokahi

275 Posts

Posted - 01/07/2007 :  09:36:28 AM  Show Profile  Visit Absolute's Homepage
Does anyone have one or two four or five bar ABSOLUTE beginner slack key arrangements? (I've heard some of the Dancing Cat records pieces, and am intrigued by the rhythms and shifting tonal emphasis.) I'm trying to learn the ukulele, have about ten chords under my belt, and would like to try slack key for ukulele (I've already lowered the A string to G. ;-) ) Does anyone know of a link to a couple of very simple, mini-songs in the slack key style that I can learn individually, and maybe later join together and intersperse with variations for longer songs? (It will take me weeks to learn even a few bars if finger-picking is required at my present level, so please don't think I'm asking for a Hawai'ian Concerto for Ukulele (though I'm sure such a thing would sound great from the right parties).

When I say three or four bars, I'm not understating my needs or abilities.) Probably silly of me to ask, and certainly more than I have any right to request, but I thought that someone might know of a few bars worth of music for the ukulele in the slack key style. Again, short and sweet, just enough that to try it out (and maybe expand through repetition and variation later). (An excerpt from "Jingle Bells" or "Home on the Range" in the slack key style would even be nice, even if they aren't traditional Hawai'ian pieces.)