Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 Any interesting gigs?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Admin
Pupule

USA
4551 Posts

Posted - 04/18/2007 :  10:46:02 AM  Show Profile  Visit Admin's Homepage  Send Admin an AOL message  Send Admin an ICQ Message  Send Admin a Yahoo! Message
I was just thinking recently that I started playing slack key simply because I enjoyed it. My intention was just to play in my living room. In the last few years, though, I have been playing out on occasion. Reflecting on those experience, I thought I'd share a couple and wondered about others in the Taropatch `ohana.

One of the first gigs I played was in 2004 for a kickoff party at the Fire Island Dance Festival. I was impressed that slack key took me to this place where I never would have gone otherwise, and I got to see some premier dance companies perform over that weekend.

This weekend, I am headed to Boston to play some music for Boston University's lu`au. I'm sure their Hawai`i Cultural Club will have hula and good food. Should be a fun time.

One "interesting" gig that came in as an inquiry but never materialized was for a Hawai`i themed party at an Orthodox Synagogue in Brooklyn. I thought that one would have been a really cool scene.

Anyhow, mahalo nui to all the teachers and fellow players who taught me and encouraged me to leave the comfort of my living room. People often thank me for creating Taropatch.net as a resource, but it has been a resource for me too.

Andy

Mika ele
Ha`aha`a

USA
1493 Posts

Posted - 04/18/2007 :  2:32:19 PM  Show Profile
quote: