Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 parlor guitars on Oahu
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Ginny
Aloha

43 Posts

Posted - 02/10/2008 :  9:47:23 PM  Show Profile
Any ideas? I am looking for the best deal without too much sacrifice on the sound quality. Just enrolling in lessons at Kaimuki highschool continuing ed classes this week. So I am a super beginner.

Thanks for taking the time to read my post.

Ginny

808bk
Akahai

82 Posts

Posted - 02/10/2008 :  11:38:53 PM  Show Profile
You may want to check out Hawaii Music Supply or Koolau Ukulele site
Go to Top of Page

hwnmusiclives
`Olu`olu

USA
580 Posts

Posted - 02/11/2008 :  04:38:50 AM  Show Profile  Visit hwnmusiclives's Homepage
quote:
Originally posted by 808bk

You may want to check out Hawaii Music Supply or Koolau Ukulele site

I'll second the Hawaii Music Supply recommendation. They have really great prices and an unbelievable selection. (And I drool everytime I go into their exclusive R Taylor room - one of the few I have been in. I can't even find one on the mainland.)

If you want an inexpensive parlor guitar, I highly recommend the Alvarez CF20K. I mistook the wood for koa but it turned out to be dao. Who cares? It has incredible tone and is incredibly lightweight and easy to play. You can get them new for less than $500 and I got mine used for $300.

Join me for the history of Hawaiian music and its musicians at Ho`olohe Hou at www.hoolohehou.org.
Go to Top of Page

guitarded
Ha`aha`a

USA
1799 Posts

Posted - 02/11/2008 :  05:57:25 AM  Show Profile
quote:
Originally posted by hwnmusiclives