Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Da Kine Music Gear
 Where to get appraisals?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

wdf
Ha`aha`a

USA
1153 Posts

Posted - 07/18/2008 :  10:49:57 AM  Show Profile
I want to get appraisals on my guitars to find out replacement values for insurance purposes. Does anyone know of places (preferably in So. Cal) that does guitar appraisals?

For most of them I can get values form the web & ebay but I have a couple that are out of the ordinary and need to be appraised.

Thanks in advance

Dusty

Mark
Ha`aha`a

USA
1628 Posts

Posted - 07/18/2008 :  12:40:51 PM  Show Profile  Visit Mark's Homepage
Hey Dusty -

I'm not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV... but all you need for insurance purposes is some way to document the replacement cost. For a relatively new instrument, that could mean something as simple as a price list or a pdf of a webpage showing the make and model, along with your original bill of sale.

It is a little different when you need to get the value of a vintage instrument that has appreciated in value. In that case you'd need a letter from someone who would be recognized as knowledgeable by an impartial judge. That could be someone at yer local music store, like Buffalo Brothers. McCabes in West LA has been dealing vintage guitars longer than anybody, so I'd give them a call, too.

I'd also suggest speaking with your insurance agent first to see what is, and what isn't, covered. F'rinstance-- some of my instruments are insured under a rider to my homeowner's policy as part of my "collection," but since I use others for work, I have to get a completely different policy for them.