Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Da Kine Music Gear
 When /how often to change strings
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

rendesvous1840
Ha`aha`a

USA
1055 Posts

Posted - 10/24/2008 :  11:19:10 AM  Show Profile
I usta change my strings every Christmas when Wanda bought me new ones. Couldn't spare the cash for strings, though I managed to buy some when I broke one. After I started playing out, I started changing before gigs, but not before open mikes or jams. So it got to be every few months, instead of once a year. They definately get harder to tune when they're too old. If you change 'em and the instrument sounds really great, you waited too too long. Seems like the idea is to maintain the sound quality, not to restore it. The time has to vary with each player's style and other factors. Playing half an hour per day, they probably need replacement after 6-8 weeks. If your hands are prone to sweating a lot, they may need it more often- the salt content is hard on strings. I suspect the coated strings would resist the sweat problem pretty well, but the high cost makes me shy away,as I can change cheaper strings more often. I used those old Black Diamonds for a number of years, as they were what was cheap and readily available back then. I haven't seen them in a long time. Seems like they were pretty heavy gauges, too. Not so good for my hands nowadays. Music stores seem to carry a lot more makes and gauges than they did around 1966-1970.
Paul

"A master banjo player isn't the person who can pick the most notes.It's the person who can touch the most hearts." Patrick Costello
Go to Top of Page

Mark
Ha`aha`a

USA