Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 Tunings?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

FROPPE
Akahai

USA
81 Posts

Posted - 01/09/2009 :  07:53:40 AM  Show Profile
I am relatively new to the magical paradise that is slack key guitar, and have almost exclusively played in Taropatch tuning my entire "career" in the Taropatch.

Recently, via instructional books and DVDs, I've begun to explore other tunings, such as F Wahine and C Wahine. I'm curious as to what tunings other slack key players are using, or have experimented with in the past, and their opinions, pros, cons, etc.

Any comments would be most appreciated!

Mahalo,
Ben Sterling
(Stuck in Standard Tuning Central Texas)

Allen M Cary
Lokahi

USA
158 Posts

Posted - 01/09/2009 :  08:45:23 AM  Show Profile
I am particularly fond of the Leonard's F (CFCGCE) and Keola's C (CGDGBE) tunings for slack. I have played with some others and my favorite song to play is in an unfortunately unique tuning for which I only have that one song--E Ku'u Morning Dew in CGCGAD. Each tuning has it's particular voice, and if you play with several you will find that in many cases the intervals and chord shapes move from one set of strings to another, but stay similar. Therefore playing in more than one tuning doesn't turn out to be that strange or daunting. You can also come to find a sequence of tunings that allow you to change from one to another with minimal knob twisting on stage (e.g., two strings from Taro to Keola's and vice versa; two from Keolas to Standard, one from Keola's to Drop C (CDGDBD) etc.)