Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Da Kine Music Gear
 string questions
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

brooklyn
Aloha

USA
30 Posts

Posted - 05/11/2006 :  5:14:00 PM  Show Profile
I'm just starting to learn slack key and I had a "what kind of strings" question for all you experienced players.

I am learning to play on a Martin 000-15 guitar (a 1990's reissue) that I bought for cheap because the former owner tried to hammer in a peg strap in an over eager manner and scratched up the bottom of the guitar, then tried to re-stain it himself.

I think the guitar has the original strings on her, (I named her 'Brownie' because she is that dark mahogany color)...so she's had the same strings on her for at least 6 or more years.

What kind of strings should I put on Brownie? I read something about specific slack key strings in a post a while ago...

I put her in Taropatch tuning tonight and she sounds so mellow and nice, even with the old strings. Also, should I clean up Brownie? She's got some dust on her.

Thanks for sharing your wisdom.

Rlowenote
Akahai

84 Posts

Posted - 05/12/2006 :  07:37:25 AM  Show Profile
My vote would be for Elixir Strings. They seem the quietest strings to my ears for the many slides in Slack Key. D'Addario EXP's also work for me. I haven't tried the other coated strings yet. Some people have better luck with other brands as well.

Ralph
Go to Top of Page

Mark
Ha`aha`a

USA
1628 Posts

Posted - 05/12/2006 :  08:20:04 AM  Show Profile  Visit Mark's Homepage
quote:
she's had the same strings on her for at least 6 or more years.

At this point, baling wire would be an improvement!