Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Da Kine Music Gear
 Buy EarMaster ear training software?
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Haolenuke
Lokahi

USA
117 Posts

Posted - 12/16/2009 :  09:43:49 AM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Aloha,

I am a newbie with mediocre pitch perception contemplating paying for my trial version of EarMaster ear training software, and I don't know if it is worth it for me. Trial versions of the software are available from Downloads.com: (http://download.cnet.com/EarMaster-Pro/3000-2133_4-10012043.html?tag=mncol). I have used the trial version for three weeks, and it seems as though my improvement is plateauing out. I don't know whether to endeavor to persevere, or to accept that I will be able to differentiate between major and minor 2nds only some of the time.

Is ear training like studying math where things go fairly well until you hit a subject that befuddles you, and has you praying for a "C" so you can get on with your life? Or is it like snuggles where there is always room for improvement?

Mika ele
Ha`aha`a

USA
1493 Posts

Posted - 12/16/2009 :  2:11:15 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Mike,
I have had ear (hearing) damage since I was a boy, made worse by years in the engineering holds of ships and as the gun mount officer. So my ability to distinguish pitch is somewhat diminished. If helped along by someone, I can sing in pitch and I can usually tune my ukuleles and guitars in pitch using the electronic tuning gizmos to justify what I perceive with my ears. Yet I cannot sing a perfect A (440 Hz) from memory. Does this hinder my ability to enjoy playing or learning to play better? I don't think so.