Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Kanikapila Forum
 looking for slack key players in Alaska
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Karl Monetti
`Olu`olu

USA
756 Posts

Posted - 02/13/2004 :  2:55:42 PM  Show Profile  Visit Karl Monetti's Homepage
Well, I have been playing this music on the couch, alone, for 7 or 8 years now, and feel the need to learn more, play more, share more slack key with anyone interested in interior Alaska. I live outside of Fairbanks about 25 miles, am willing to travel anywhere in the interior for good musical companionship.
My first taste of Ki ho'alu was on a Public radio show 10 years ago featuring Raymond Kane and Ledward Kaapana. Next exposure was via George Winston, who plays one or two pieces at each piano concert up here. Then, my daughter took a semester at UH, Manoa, and of course I had to go check on her well-being. After an arduous all day search, I found someone in Honolulu who actually had heard of slack key guitar, and had a friend, Bobby Moderow, who played it, and was in fact playing that night at Roy's. Our entourage (my wife, daughter and her boyfriend and another UH swim team member, and I ) showed up during their (MaunaLua) first set. After the second song, I introduced myself to Bobby, and told him I had heard he played slack key. Well, did his face light up or what??? He was thrilled that anyone knew about the art form, and also wanted to hear it. Needless to say, he played several songs, and the band sat with us at every break the rest of the night. I managed to wangle a lesson from Bobby that trip, and have been playing several of the tunes he showed me ever since.