Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 Tab rules
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 4

hapakid
Luna Ho`omalu

USA
1533 Posts

Posted - 05/07/2004 :  3:55:03 PM  Show Profile  Visit hapakid's Homepage
Don't we have this copyright vs. sharing conversation about once a year?
As a photographer, I have a little experience with copyright, and the copyright is owned as soon as the work is created, i.e. written down, recorded, whatever, in permanent form. Mailing to yourself is a proof of copyright date, but so are other things like notarizing or just writing the word or symbol for copyright on the work and dating it.
Registering your copyright with the U.S. Copyright Office assures you of two things: lawyers fees from the defendent in a copyright lawsuit, and up to$30,000 damage award per infringment (per copying).
Owning a copyright without registration doesn't mean you can't enforce it, but you'll have a hard time getting a lawyer to take your case and there won't be monetary damages. You can force someone to stop using your work, though.
That's the legal line.
Sharing a song around the lanai should always be fair game, though. Sharing the TAB or homemade sheet music via cyberspace is a gray area because no profit is being made and the sharing may or may not dilute the marketability of the original work.
Forbidding sharing because, as Mark said, because it's the artist's choice to teach someone a song, is like putting the genie back in the bottle. Once someone buys a CD and pops it in the player, controlling their reaction is not practical.