Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Introduce Yourself
 Aloha from Davis, CA beginner
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Mutantmoose
Aloha

USA
12 Posts

Posted - 07/28/2005 :  4:44:54 PM  Show Profile
Hey folks, this is one heckuva resource, I've learned so much since I logged on and joined.

My wife's family is of Chinese descent from Hawaii, all of her aunts and uncles are from there or live on Oahu. This haole has a lots to learn still about family, hanging out playing music, that kind of thing. We have a 1 year old now, and I'm glad to say that his hapa heritage is a great thing.

I've been playing guitar for about 15 years, played in a couple bands, lots of rock stuff. I've been slowly getting into slack key, and loving it. I'm working from Ozzie's book right now, and that's been a good start. I think mebbe I'll try some of Keola's stuff next.

My wife's auntie Moolan said something to me in the car other day (we were in Honolulu last week, bummer to be back), she said that nobody plays the old songs anymore. I think she was talking about songs from the Chas King book of Hawaiian songs, but I'm not sure. I'm going to try to learn some of those songs for next summer's vacation.

Anyways, I could not be pursuing more divergent hobbies than I am right now - slack key guitar and fencing. One is about chilling out, the other is about stabbing at people with swords.

I'm looking forward to reading more!

Mark

Mark
"In the business of enriching lives for 15 years."

Admin
Pupule

USA
4551 Posts