Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 improvising
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Francie
Aloha

USA
15 Posts

Posted - 11/29/2005 :  07:08:46 AM  Show Profile
I am seeking advice on how to learn to improvise (in taro patch). I am a beginner and have played many of the tunes in Ozzie's book but so far have not come across any specific information about beginning steps to improvisation. I realize it is an individual and creative process but like most other such processes there are usually some beginning steps that someone who understands the process and is a good teacher can point out to get a person started.I am learning some chord positions and turn-arounds as well as strums and parallel sixths and thirds positions but where to go from there? I guess the question is: How do I put it altogether?
Francie

Mark
Ha`aha`a

USA
1628 Posts

Posted - 11/29/2005 :  08:48:14 AM  Show Profile  Visit Mark's Homepage
Hi Francie -

Well, since you live in Ashland, the short answer is to give me a call. I'm in Ruch, and I teach. One or two lessons would suffice to get you pointed in the right direction.

The long answer is to learn to listen to how the song is structured and learn which licks and double stops "go with" the various chords. Jamming in TaroPatch is less about playing lead in than blues-based guitar styles. What you want to do is play around with the melody and chords of the song, emellishing here, leaving something out there.