Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 Whats your story behind slack-key.
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

ohanabrown
Lokahi

281 Posts

Posted - 10/09/2002 :  06:10:24 AM  Show Profile
I've been playing kiho alu now for about 30 years. Besides the unique sound that it has, Im fascinated by the storys that people tell on how they first got started.

When i first heard kiho-alu, I was a sophmore in high school. I CUT! my MATH class that day. While sitting under a tree i heard this music playing and it got my full attention. After the recess bell rang, I walked up to that teacher And asked him what kind of music he was playing?

He said it's called slack-key. I asked him if he would teach me. He said if i gave up all my recess and came to him, He would teach me.( make a long story short ) From my Sophmore year thru my Senior i gave up all my recess and went to this teacher. He thought me all the tunnings he new and everything he new.

And till this day i believe, If i didn't CUT my MATH class that day i would have never learn or even heard of slack-key. Mahalo Mr. Henry Meyers.(teacher)

Slack-key has played a major role in my life. Thats how i met my wife, Thats how i raised my family, And till this day im still playing this unique sound called Kiho-Alu.

Admin
Pupule

USA
4551 Posts

Posted - 10/09/2002 :  10:57:41 AM  Show Profile  Visit Admin's Homepage  Send Admin an AOL message  Send Admin an ICQ Message  Send Admin a Yahoo! Message