Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Da Kine Music Gear
 Loops
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

hapakid
Luna Ho`omalu

USA
1533 Posts

Posted - 03/13/2006 :  6:35:32 PM  Show Profile  Visit hapakid's Homepage
I've been trying to find an easy way to get traditional Hawaii beats (I have terrible rhythm) and I'm wondering if any has made their own loops of ipu heke or other traditional instruments? Has anyone found and built hula beats in loop programs?
Ideally the loops would adjust to the BPM signature in Garageband or other recording program.
I'm a novice, so speak slowly...
Jesse Tinsley

Reid
Ha`aha`a

Andorra
1526 Posts

Posted - 03/14/2006 :  08:31:51 AM  Show Profile
*You* have terrible rythm!??!? You are kidding, right?

Since I have No Soul (tm) - I can't even clap off the beat, I have been thinking of doing the same thing as backup/accompaniment to Sarah's recordings. Adobe Audition makes it really easy and even comes with a slew of prerecorded loops you can use, if you wanted too.

My idea, which I am gonna experiment with, is to record "atomic primitives", such as a bunch of `uke chord strums. I can do one at a time really well :-) Then with the "library" of atoms, I will just assemble a string of them and loop as required. Assembly is easy, as AA allows time stretching without pitch change (so I can match most any tempo - BPM, whatever - and even fudge it a bit in places if Sarah is not exctly regular) and I can easily link the atoms at zero crossings. Then, I will loop until an appropriate ending.

(I bet I could assemble a robot Jake :-)