Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Da Kine Music Gear
 travel Guitar
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

RWD
`Olu`olu

USA
850 Posts

Posted - 06/19/2006 :  01:18:25 AM  Show Profile
Oh! One more thing to add. They make a steel string version too.

Bob
Go to Top of Page

Danny Boy
Aloha

USA
25 Posts

Posted - 07/14/2006 :  4:06:51 PM  Show Profile  Send Danny Boy a Yahoo! Message
I am an airline pilot and I pack a traveler.com in nylon...breaks monotony, especially when in wintery climates. Anyone know if the builder will re-do tuners to accomodate changing from nylon to steel strings...I am not liking nylon.....
Go to Top of Page

Karl Monetti
`Olu`olu

USA
756 Posts

Posted - 07/19/2006 :  2:38:37 PM  Show Profile  Visit Karl Monetti's Homepage
Danny Boy,
You may have to change more than njust the tuners to go from nylon to steel. Nylon fingerboards are generally flat, steel are radiused. String tension is higher with nylon, so bracing of top may not be strong enough, neck may warp/bend,. Width of neck much greater on nylon vs steel, and the nut and saddle will need replacement or alteration. that's just what i cna think of as i write....probably more things to consider. Like, maybe a whole different guitar:>

Karl
Frozen North
Go to Top of Page

bikey
Aloha

1 Posts

Posted - 09/18/2006 :  06:27:41 AM  Show Profile
Hi pickers,