Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Da Kine Music Gear
 Devine Guitars
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Cscapes
Aloha

USA
6 Posts

Posted - 01/17/2007 :  06:37:44 AM  Show Profile  Visit Cscapes's Homepage
Aloha everyone,

I'm new to this forum and to the slack key style. I have been playing guitar for 18 years but have recently learned to love and appreciate the sound and skill involved in this kind of playing.

I just recently bought Keola Beamers The Art Of Hawiian Slack Key Guitar on DVD and I am really eating this stuff up. I'm currently about 2/3 of the way through Ku'u Lei Awapuhi Melemele and I'm so excited about finishing it and bringing the whole thing up to speed. I've really become a big fan of the F wahine tuning.

Now my to my question. I'm looking for a good slack key style guitar but I do want it to be able to handle strumming as well. Kealo's guitar is nice and Steve Grimes is a great Luthier but $6,600 for that guitar is out of the question.

I have come across another good lutheir in Hawaii by the name of Eric Devine. He makes some really nice looking guitars and has a reasonable asking price (for me anyway)I've be concidering giving him a call and asking him to build a guitar that is already on his website, here is the link: http://www.devineguitars.com/GUITAR6A_000.htm

So tell me everyone, what do you think? Please remember I'm new to the style but have many years of playing under my belt (although mostly strumming and rock music) as well as knowledge of the acoustic guitar it's self.

Thanks!

Reid
Ha`aha`a

Andorra
1526 Posts

Posted - 01/17/2007 :  07:48:31 AM  Show Profile