Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Talk Story
 Humuhumunukunukuapua`a
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

wcerto
Ahonui

USA
5052 Posts

Posted - 03/19/2007 :  1:33:59 PM  Show Profile
Since I am just starting to learn the `olelo, I am very unsure of myself. Most of what I have learned is by listening to songs with my Kawena Pukui dictionary in my lap.

In the past couple of days I have heard several different people (Bill Tapia, Nathan Aweau, and someone else, but I cannot remember who), singing "My little Grass Shack". In the song all of them pronounced it as "hoo-moo-hoo-moo-noo-koo-noo-koo-ah-poo-ah-ah, but I thought it is: hoo-moo-hoo-moo-noo-koo-noo-koo-apooah-ah.

Anyone can kokua?
Mahalo,
Wanda

Me ke aloha
Malama pono,
Wanda

thumbstruck
Ahonui

USA
2164 Posts

Posted - 03/19/2007 :  6:04:28 PM  Show Profile
Vowels rule in Hawaiian. In all Polynesian languages, vowels are important. In English, we slurr them, they're more liquid.
Go to Top of Page

hawaiianmusiclover06
`Olu`olu

USA
562 Posts

Posted - 03/19/2007 :  7:20:55 PM  Show Profile  Visit hawaiianmusiclover06's Homepage  Send hawaiianmusiclover06 an AOL message  Click to see hawaiianmusiclover06's MSN Messenger address  Send hawaiianmusiclover06 a Yahoo! Message
Since I took 2 years of 'olelo Hawai'i in college for this posting I have to say that the vowels rule in the language.

Aloha Kakou, maluhia a me aloha mau loa (Hello everyone, peace and love forever)
Go to Top of Page

Sarah
`Olu`olu

571 Posts

Posted - 03/20/2007 :  03:33:32 AM  Show Profile