Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Da Kine Music Gear
 Science of harmonics
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

rendesvous1840
Ha`aha`a

USA
1055 Posts

Posted - 04/19/2007 :  3:46:31 PM  Show Profile
Over the years I've been playing music,I noticed that harmonics were easier at some frets, and some guitars, than others.It seemed that the better instruments made clearer, louder harmonics, and they were easier to produce. Why is this so? I never really used them much, until I started learning slack key. I don't have any of what would be called 'High-End' instruments; do they produce even better harmonics?And here's something I just noticed a week or so ago; one of my mt. dulcimers will make harmonics at almost any fret. I guess I never tried before, but enquiring minds want to know.Does any body understand the science of this?
Paul

"A master banjo player isn't the person who can pick the most notes.It's the person who can touch the most hearts." Patrick Costello

RWD
`Olu`olu

USA
850 Posts

Posted - 04/20/2007 :  01:14:57 AM  Show Profile
I have two steel string guitars. My best sounding one (martin) is harder to get harmonics from than the lesser one. go figure.

Bob
Go to Top of Page

RJS
Ha`aha`a

1635 Posts

Posted - 04/20/2007 :  10:20:42 AM  Show Profile
Similarly, I have a custom made Pimentel - lovely tone - great harmonics, but hard to hit just right (than my relatively cheap old beater)
Go to Top of Page

Karl Monetti
`Olu`olu

USA
756 Posts

Posted - 04/24/2007 :  1:33:02 PM  Show Profile  Visit Karl Monetti's Homepage