Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 `Uke Talk
 Ukulele on wikipedia
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

Retro
Ahonui

USA
2368 Posts

Posted - 05/04/2007 :  2:08:24 PM  Show Profile  Visit Retro's Homepage
Tag/Tim's enthusiasm is great, but as he himself pointed out: "I'm a uke novice, so I'm no expert." So become an expert BEFORE working to correct the Wikipedia entry on `ukulele.

That's the problem with Wikipedia. Nothing personal, Tim, but so much of Wikipedia is "improved by novices" that it's just not trustworthy. Despite Reid's point that many people are turning to it as a source for information, it's still risky to depend on it.

Just because a large number of people watch "Dancing With The Stars" doesn't mean it's some of the best television programming available. Just because people commonly say the phrase "I could care less" doesn't mean it's correct grammar. Just because it's a popular site on that intra-net-web-thingy doesn't give something legitimacy.

When Wikipedia can convince me that the information it presents is not heavily weighted towards novice-level data-entry, I'll reconsider.
Go to Top of Page

Reid
Ha`aha`a

Andorra
1526 Posts

Posted - 05/04/2007 :  3:42:43 PM  Show Profile