Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 `Uke Talk
 D chord
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Absolute
Lokahi

275 Posts

Posted - 05/05/2007 :  09:13:37 AM  Show Profile  Visit Absolute's Homepage
Another of my Absolute Beginner questions. I was having trouble with the Bb chord, until I lowered the action at the nut on the ukuleles. I have never found the D chord to be comfortable with GCEA tuning. I supposed I could use a different tuning. I'd rather not switch. The problem is that my finger always touches the C string, or if I raise it up off the C string, it doesn't force one or more of the other strings against the fret properly. I have trouble switching into this chord position quickly, because it's kind of tricky for me.

I tend to perceive D6 as a substitution option, but Mark likes to remind me that chords should not be casually substituted. I don't do it casually, merely out of practical limitations. I try to bar the three strings, and encounter the problem I mentioned. I can't squeeze three fingers on the three strings across. They don't fit. Any suggestions, other than lowering the action at the nut more? I was not able to come up with a viable alternate fingering. Maybe someone else has one.

Thank you.

Absolute
Lokahi

275 Posts

Posted - 05/05/2007 :  11:08:53 AM  Show Profile  Visit Absolute's Homepage
What the heck. I'll just substitute DbMaj7 (3-2-1-0) for D and Dm. At least my fingers fit without interfering with the "A" string.

Thank you.
Go to Top of Page

Absolute
Lokahi

275 Posts

Posted - 05/05/2007 :  3:53:58 PM  Show Profile  Visit Absolute's Homepage