Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Talk Story
 Need translation help
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

markwitz
`Olu`olu

USA
841 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  07:14:19 AM  Show Profile
I have been asked to try out for a radio program at a very small FM station in the Santa Cruz area of California that plays all Hawaiian Music 24 hrs a day. www.kapu.org Right now I'm just learning the ropes concerning how to push the buttons and how to speak into the mike correctly and so forth. If I can make the cut, I'll have a weekly program for 2 hrs playing anything I like. Although I want to play contemporary music, I want to also share a lot of the vintage and out of print music, from my collection, that I have on vinyl lp's. Sorta go back and forth between the old and the new music.

I've been thinking about a name for the show.

I have a dear friend that suggested calling it "Ma'anei, ma'o" which he says is a common Hawaiian expression that means "Then and Now".

Could I also say "Mele. Ma'anei, ma'o"?

I spoke with another Hawaiian language speaker last night and she suggested "Na mele o ka hope a keia" which she says means "Music, then and now".

So I'm asking the language experts here to help me out on this. What would be a suitable way of saying " Music, Then and Now" or "Music, Past and Present" in Hawaiian?

Maholo for your help.

"The music of the Hawaiians, the most fascinating in the world, is still in my ears and
haunts me sleeping and waking."
Mark Twain

Retro
Ahonui

USA
2368 Posts

Posted - 09/08/2007 :  1:20:25 PM  Show Profile  Visit Retro's Homepage