Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Da Kine Music Gear
 Stage Sound
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

Allen M Cary
Lokahi

USA
158 Posts

Posted - 09/23/2008 :  12:49:04 PM  Show Profile
I am a real rookie at this, but I have an experience that wasn't so good and would like advice from this august group. I have a small Crate amp that has worked well for me in small rooms, but last weekend I did an outdoor gig--sort of quiet background acoustic slack key for a garden wine tasting event. I was set up in an alcove/gallery off the main tasting area, and had a lot of trouble getting any volume without feeding back at certain frequencies. I am wondering:
Is the Crate simply inappropriate for this type of venue?
Do I need other bits to go together with it?
Should I s**tcan the Crate and get something else (e.g., the AER)?
Does anyone have experience with the new Fishman Portable or the Bose L series?
I don't do a lot of these gigs so I don't want to spend an arm and a leg,(couldn't play with only one arm) but I did enjoy doing it and would like to do more of them and be a little more "professional"
thanks for any help,
Mahalo,
Allen
Go to Top of Page

RWD
`Olu`olu

USA
850 Posts

Posted - 09/23/2008 :  1:07:31 PM  Show Profile
What kind of pickup were you using or was it a mic?

Bob
Go to Top of Page

wcerto
Ahonui

USA
5052 Posts

Posted - 09/23/2008 :  1:08:15 PM  Show Profile
Where is Lawrence? He is the sound guy extraordinaire. Ask George Kahumoku.

Me ke aloha
Malama pono,
Wanda
Go to Top of Page

Allen M Cary
Lokahi

USA
158 Posts

Posted - 09/23/2008 :  1:25:28 PM  Show Profile