Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 Beginner slack key --how did you start?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

wrenblue
Aloha

USA
13 Posts

Posted - 03/24/2009 :  04:09:53 AM  Show Profile
Hi everyone,

I am a newbie beginner to slack key and I am waiting for my first book to arrive by Ozzie Katoni & Dennis Ladd, "Guitar Hawaiian Style". I read the reviews and it appears that this one would be good to start with.

I've played guitar over 35 yrs (classical/fingerstyle) and I am excited to start learning a new genre.

In addition, I am going to Swannanoa Gathering this year and taking Patrick Landeza's slack key class.

How did you all get started?

mike2jb
Lokahi

USA
213 Posts

Posted - 03/24/2009 :  04:53:07 AM  Show Profile
Hi, Renee, and welcome again. I think you'll hear a big variety of answers from members of this forum, but I also started with Ozzie's book. However, I had no prior experience with guitar or music of any kind (except listening ).

I think if you don't have a teacher available right where you are, Ozzie's book is a great place to start. I would personally encourage you to listen to as much Hawaiian music as you can, slack key as well as other styles, and then to try to get away from the tabs as soon as you can get a few of Ozzie's pieces under your belt. Others may, of course, have different advice.