Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 Advice for bottom-of-the-rung beginners?
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

ongchua
Akahai

USA
92 Posts

Posted - 05/22/2003 :  02:14:13 AM  Show Profile
Well, I tried searching through the topics and I couldn't find an equivalent, so I've decided to start this one.

Some of you seem to have started by learning the guitar and later learning slack-key; others seems to have started purely with slack-key. Some seem to have taken the path of self-instruction while others have sought out instructors.

I'm just beginning my journey with the guitar AND with slack-key. Having little time between work and family, I've decided to start with just self-instruction (working with the eMedia Method CD, a few videos on acoustic guitar and classical methods, and reading Ozzie's book on the side). I expect to progress slowly with daily practices of 30-60 minutes. Past experience in learning to play other instruments has taught me that there are no shortcuts.

What I'm looking for in this topic is advice from those of you that have already made the journey or have already embarked upon it. Although there are no shortcuts, there are methods for more effective learning and detours could might provide some improvement. Should I have even a few sessions with an instructor? Might it pay for me to learn some fingerpicking techniques of classical or blues guitar? Should I be reading (viewing, listening) other books (videos, CDs) that might be more helpful for self-instruction? What were your frustrations? Did you ever plateau? How did you find breakthroughs?