Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Hawaiian Slack Key Guitar / Hawaiian Music
 Hello to Everyone
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

dorbiso
Aloha

USA
3 Posts

Posted - 06/13/2003 :  7:24:36 PM  Show Profile
Hello to Everyone!

My name is Dean and I stumbled across this forum and have been enjoying reading everyone's comments and posts.

I've been playing guitar now for almost 15 years and have just started getting more serious in studying and playing the slack key style. Although I dabbled with it a bit back in 2001 (during my first and unfortunately only trip to Hawaii), i started getting more serious about slack key about a year ago.

Anyways, i've purchased two instructional books and several music cd's of artists like Keola Beamer, a compilation from Dancing Cat Records, Ledward Kaapana, and various other compilations of classic tunes.

I was wondering if anyone in the forum could direct me towards other artists I should check out and if anyone knows of any local places in Southern California to hear some good slack key players?

I appreciate any help i could get and I look forward to talking to all of you more in the future!

Thanks

Dean

Pauline Leland
`Olu`olu

USA
783 Posts

Posted - 06/13/2003 :  8:31:22 PM  Show Profile
Aloha Dean,

Mainly I'm just saying welcome.