Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 `Uke Talk
 Ukulele on wikipedia
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 2

tag
Aloha

2 Posts

Posted - 05/03/2007 :  06:11:48 AM  Show Profile
Heya -- over the next month or so, I'm planning to do some work on the ukulele section of wikipedia. Sources need to be added, and it needs some cleaning up: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ukulele

The great thing about wikipedia is that anyone can pitch in! I'm a uke novice, so I'm no expert -- if anyone can help me tackle this, I would appreciate it. All you need to do is visit the pages and add info where you see fit.

Here are some of the things I'm thinking of improving (and you can help with):

1. Update the list of Ukulele manufactures
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_ukulele_manufacturers

and create pages for notible manufacturers (particularly Kamaka)

2. Add a range graphic, like the one on this page:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guitar

Unfortunatly, I have no idea what some of the symbols mean (like the line through the treble clef, the little 8 and the loco)

3. Add sources to and expand the history section, including adding info about the popularity 'waves' in the US.

4. Going through the Ukulele musicians section to make sure these are notible uke players, not just musicians who may have strumed a tune or two.

5. Adding slack-key info to the tuning section.

And anything else you think might be missing!

Mark
Ha`aha`a

USA
1628 Posts

Posted - 05/03/2007 :  07:45:46 AM  Show Profile  Visit Mark's Homepage
quote:
The great thing about wikipedia is that anyone can pitch in! I'm a uke novice, so I'm no expert