Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 `Uke Talk
 The New Six String Ukuleles
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Previous Page | Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

Absolute
Lokahi

275 Posts

Posted - 09/05/2007 :  08:28:35 AM  Show Profile  Visit Absolute's Homepage
Okay, I'll practice.

That response is quite a "thingy"!

Thank you.
Go to Top of Page

Lawrence
Ha`aha`a

USA
1597 Posts

Posted - 09/05/2007 :  09:12:23 AM  Show Profile
quote:
Oh my! Didn't we do this `uke categorization thing recently? Where is Hikabe?
If it is YOUR instrument, then I guess you can call it what you want! If I had one, (and since I am a Guitarist) I would tune it like a Guitar (say open G), and would call it a Guitar (or the Spanish name for that Mariachi instrument preceded by the word "Hawaiian" as in "Hawaiian Requinto").

Mahope Kākou...
...El Lorenzo de Ondas Sonoras

Edited by - Lawrence on 09/05/2007 09:43:14 AM
Go to Top of Page

Mika ele
Ha`aha`a

USA
1493 Posts

Posted - 09/05/2007 :  09:43:03 AM  Show Profile
I have had a KoAloha D-VI for over a year now. My main reason for ordering it was to be able to play slack key in a different musical register/tuning. The same reason I have a nylon string and a steel string guitar. I tune my D-VI to several of the standard slack key guitar tunings but move it up five frets -- in other words the G taropatch becomes a C taropatch tuned GCGCEG. So I can transpose the songs I know on the guitar in Open G (taropatch) to the Key of C Major -- sometimes a more friendly range for my voice.

However, I found that I was niave to think it would be that easy.