Taropatch.net
Taropatch.net
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ | $upport
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

HomeWhat is slack key?Hawai`i News HeadlinesTalk story at our message boardArtists, Clubs and more...
spacer.gif (45 bytes)

All Forums
 General
 Da Kine Music Gear
 Classical guitar
 New Topic  Topic Locked
 Printer Friendly
Next Page
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic
Page: of 3

APT
Aloha

34 Posts

Posted - 08/16/2008 :  1:20:17 PM  Show Profile
OK, this is my first post. I'm new to slack key guitar, so please forgive me if this is off-base.

Virtually all of the slack key music that I have been listening to is played on steel string guitars. However, for various reasons, I happen to like classical guitars. Am I crazy? Should I buy a steel string guitar?

kihoalukid
Lokahi

USA
289 Posts

Posted - 08/16/2008 :  1:46:09 PM  Show Profile  Visit kihoalukid's Homepage
Not to worry, lots of wonderful slack key on classical guitar, Keola Beamer, Ozzie Kotani, Moses Kahumoku just to name a few.

Lee
Go to Top of Page

RWD
`Olu`olu

USA
850 Posts

Posted - 08/17/2008 :  02:33:07 AM  Show Profile
I was strictly nylon for a while and still have three clasical guitars. I had one, and then had to buy two more after I got in to slack key because I wanted to use other tunings.
I play mostly steel string now but there are still a few songs that that I only play on nylon.
What got me to cross over to steel was stubborn tuning issues and the lower sustain of nylon.
Some here choose to play only nylon and thier slack kye sound just fine. I think they stay in one tuning (taropatch) all the time and so avoid the frustration of constantly tuning.

As you may know--or will find out, nylon does not like to be changed. I would not even consider re-tuning nylon on stage--it would be out of tune by mid song--you can count on it.